CSIR General News



New CSIR Board Chairperson,

Minister appoints new CSIR Board

The new CSIR Board has been appointed by the Minister of Science and Technology, Mosibudi Mangena, for a term of three years. The Board will be chaired by Nobusi Shikwane, CEO of Tshenolitha Business Services.

As a strategic body that engages with the CSIR Executive to provide direction and approve new initiatives, the Board of the CSIR is of the utmost importance. The CSIR Board approves the organisation's strategy, goals, operating policies and priorities, and Nobusi Shikwane monitors compliance with policies and achievements against objectives.

Some of the previous members have been re-elected, which will ensure continuity, while the new members will provide fresh inputs. The Minister may make additional appointments in due course. I

Apart from the CEO and President of the CSIR, all members are non-executive.

The new CSIR Board members are:

- Chairperson Nobusi Shikwane, CEO of Tshenolitha Business Services;
- Professor Cheryl de la Rey, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation) at the University of Cape Town;
- Dr Nomsa Dlamini, MD of Masifundisane Training and Development Projects;
- Dr Nhlanhla Msomi, CEO of East Coast Biotechnology Innovation Centre;
- Dr Francis Petersen, Head of Strategy at Anglo Platinum Corporation; and
- Dr Sibusiso Sibisi, CSIR CEO and President.
- Professor Mike Wingfield, Director of the Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute at the University of Pretoria.

Previous page viewed

Copyright © CSIR 2006. All Rights Reserved | Revised: 14/9/107 | Feedback: EBAS Web Team This site is designed for 1024 x 768 and is best viewed in Mozilla FireFox or MS Internet Explorer